

Shropshire Council
Legal and Democratic Services
Shirehall
Abbey Foregate
Shrewsbury
SY2 6ND

Date: Tuesday, 20 September 2022

:

Committee:

People Overview Committee

Date: Wednesday, 28 September 2022

Time: 1.30 pm

Venue: Shrewsbury/Oswestry Room, Shirehall, Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury,

Shropshire, SY2 6ND

You are requested to attend the above meeting. The Agenda is attached

There will be some access to the meeting room for members of the press and public, but this will be limited for health and safety reasons. If you wish to attend the meeting please email democracy@shropshire.gov.uk to check that a seat will be available for you.

Please click <u>here</u> to view the livestream of the meeting on the date and time stated on the agenda

The recording of the event will also be made available shortly after the meeting on the Shropshire Council Youtube Channel <u>Here</u>

Tim Collard Assistant Director – Legal and Governance

Members of the Committee

Peggy Mullock (Chairman)

Claire Wild (Vice Chairman)

Roy Aldcroft

Peter Broomhall

David Evans

Nat Green

Ruth Houghton

Hilary Luff

Kevin Pardy

Kevin Turley

Co-opted Members (Voting):

Carol Morgan Diocese of Shrewsbury (RC)
Sian Lines Diocese of Hereford (CE)



Your Committee Officer is:

Ashley Kendrick Committee Officer

Tel: 01743 250893

Email: <u>ashley.kendrick@shropshire.gov.uk</u>

AGENDA

1 Apologies and Substitutions

To receive apologies for absence from Members of the Committee

2 Disclosable Pecuniary Interests

Members are reminded that they must declare their disclosable pecuniary interests and other registrable or non-registrable interests in any matter being considered at the meeting as set out in Appendix B of the Members' Code of Conduct and consider if they should leave the room prior to the item being considered. Further advice can be sought from the Monitoring Officer in advance of the meeting.

3 Minutes (Pages 1 - 4)

The minutes of the last meeting, held on 29th June 2022, are attached for confirmation.

4 Public Question Time

To receive any public questions or petitions from the public, notice of which has been given in accordance with Procedure Rule 14. The deadline for this meeting is 5pm on Thursday 22nd September 2022.

5 Members' Question Time

To receive any questions of which Members of the Council have given notice.

Deadline for notification: 5pm on Thursday 22nd September 2022.

6 Amendment to those present at the meeting held on 12th May 2022

To note that the list of attendees as recorded in the minutes of the People Overview Committee meeting held on 12th May 2022 was incorrect and should include Councillor Roger Evans and Councillor Caroline Bagnall.

7 2022 Educational Achievements and Outcomes

To scrutinise pupil attainment and to identify future lines of enquiry to support improved attainment.

Contact Steve Compton - 01743 254444

8 Update to School Place Planning in Shropshire

To receive further information on the forecast demand for school places in the local authority area.

Contact Phil Wilson - 01743 254344

9 Work Programme

To consider the future work programme of the Committee. Report attached.

Contact Danial Webb - 01743 258509

10 Date of Next Meeting

To note that the next meeting of the People Overview Committee will be held at 10am on Wednesday 16th November 2022.